Image

I’m sure everyone was taught that to be a good manager you need to lead.  I find that directing people usually falls into two categories.  Leaders and managers.

Managers know what needs to be done and drives the team to do it.  They are focused on the tasks at hand and how to get to the end goal.  They have a workstream and they stick to it.

Leaders are more abstract.  They know the end game and provide the vision but rely on their teams to get them there.  The path is undefined and their goal is to work towards the best solution and remove roadblocks as they encounter them.

Is one better than the other?  I don’t think so.  Managers are great in defined environments such as manufacturing.  Leaders are great in environments where there are many unknowns such as marketing or development.  

The key to great direction is to know when to shift between being a manager and a leader.  I lean toward being a leader.  But, I do know that in times of crisis, I need to be a manager.  At these critical checkpoints I will directly involve myself in my teams work, micromanage and ask for constant feedback.  My task assignment is very detailed and specific in what and when it is expected.  There is no time for extensive discussion in times of crisis, only action.

A manager with a set workstream and metrics to uphold needs to also be receptive of change.  Optimizations can come from anywhere.  Their leadership and openness to change will allow them to realize it is for the overall benefit of their teams.  There is no doubt that a change to routine is difficult.  But to effect change, they will provide leadership to teach, train and mentor their teams through the transition and encourage future growth.

These are just some of my thoughts and categorizations that go through my mind.  Do you agree?

 

Image courtesy of sheelamohan at FreeDigitalPhotos.net